Business Services

Business Services provides many support services necessary to facilitate the instructional, co-curricular, and community programming offered by the Sparta Area School District. Some of these services include:

  • Coordinate all phases the district's budgeting process. The annual budget of all district funds exceeds $30 million.
  • Receipt and disbursement of all district funds.
  • Process of payroll for over 600 fulltime, part-time, and temporary employees.
  • Administer employee benefit programs.
  • Maintain financial records in accordance with Wisconsin Uniform Financial Accounting Requirements (WUFAR), Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP), and standards of the Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB).
  • Review of the reliability of the accounting and reporting systems.
  • Manage district investments.
  • Oversee district long- and short-term debt.
  • Maintain and verify current inventory of the fixed assets of the district.
  • Provide resources for School Board employee contract negotiations.
  • Oversee custodial, maintenance, and service systems of the district.
  • Provide supervision of District's Food Service and Transportation services.

See this three-page handout from the Wisconsin Association of School Business Officials for a more complete description of the activities of the school business office.

Staff

Ellickson

Director of Business Serivces: Kent Ellickson, kellickson@spartan.org, (608) 369-3151 (ext. 6302), Fax (608) 366-3474

Office:
Administrative and Educational Center (3rd Floor)
201 E. Franklin Street
Sparta, WI 54656
608-366-3474

Mailing Address:
201 E. Franklin Street
Sparta, WI 54656

Business Office

Hauser

Accountant: Leah Hauser, CPA, lhauser@spartan.org, (608) 366-3429 (ext. 6321), Fax (608) 366-3474

Beall

Business Services Secretary: Marilyn Beall, mbeall@spartan.org, (608) 366-3443 (ext. 6301), Fax (608) 366-3474

Stiehl

Payroll and Benefits Specialist: Valerie Stiehl, vstiehl@spartan.org (608) 366-3440 (ext. 6322), Fax (608) 366-3404 - Teachers, Administrators, Middle Management, Co-Curricular, Board

Wright

Payroll and Benefits Specialist: Bridget Wright, bwright@spartan.org, (608) 366-3538 (ext. 6320), Fax (608) 366-3433 - Classified Staff, Substitute Employees

NelsonS

Accounts Payable/Receivable Specialist: Sarah Nelson, snelson@spartan.org, (608) 366-3441 (ext. 6324), Fax (608) 366-3444

Fromm

Supervisor of Buildings and Grounds: Lowell Fromm, lfromm@spartan.org, (608) 366-3443 (ext. 6307)

Nutrition Services Office: (608) 366-3422

Transportation: (608) 366-1925 for Bus and (608) 366-3443 for Vans

Blog